an individual road to moral peace

There are few things as annoying for me, and insidious, as moralism. Easy to see in the hands of an authority, or “those kind of people”, on the good side of the tracks, that don’t like “people like us”. But moralism is actually something that we all have a weakness for, somewhere.

And let’s face it, when you look at the world, it is an utter, appalling mess. If you are looking for justice, or even reason and consistency, you really are going to have your work cut out for you. Pretty much the most you can say is everything is looking for lunch, and running away from being something else’s lunch. Life gets it to breed inbetween. Then it dies. Great.

Ok, maybe that’s a bit bleak. I don’t actually believe that. But there’s a lot strutting round on its hind legs making moral noises, when that is what it really seems to be doing. That and finding a consensus to conform to. It does look like an awful lot of hypocrisy and dishonesty.

It’s difficult to not feel extremely negative and disillusioned when you see how the world is. It’s difficult to not feel angry, sick and tired.

But there’s something that I am working on now, to make me a happier person.

I’m trying to remember, when I look at the world, that “out there” there is no right and wrong, because those are things that people make up as they go along. It’s not that I don’t believe in a more profound sense of “the good”, because I do. But the compulsive, emotional, thought structured “goods” and “bads” that people are driven by, they are imaginary, even if the imagination is often inherited. And remembering that relieves the expectations of the human world, and also brings a possibility of compassion into the equation.

I will want my world to be the very best it can be, within my own sphere, all the same. I wish the same for others, and I know we are all interdependent. I believe that if I am following my own true course, it will help you do the same ultimately too. “Rights” and “wrongs” moreover are unavoidable. But we’re all making it up as we go along, hopefully creatively and honestly.

Maybe if we do that, we can live from our truth, and dump moralism in the garbage where it belongs, on a daily basis.

justice

red nose justice – from public domain images via wikimedia commons

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: how to be good, maybe, just a little | Summer Thunder

Leave a Reply

