why I believe in keeping blogs personal

When blogs first appeared I didn’t get them (which is fairly typical of me). I thought “why keep a public diary?”. Eventually I got to understand though, and I really love having a blog, and seeing other blogs I connect with.

Last week someone I know said “well we think blogs are all very well but …….”, they’re not magazines, they’re not academic sites, they’re not professional basically. And that is kinda the point. If you want those things, you go to a website someone has set up for the purpose. Less personal experience, more regulated content, with or without a financial transaction.

Blogs are different. With a blog you are making contact with a person. That’s part of it, and what makes it creative, kooky, and a different kind of experience. There’s a connection and a directness involved. I know there are blogs that see themselves as serious journalism, providers of services, or businesses, but they are not acting as blogs to my mind, they are just using a blogging platform for their work. And that’s fine, as is using a blog as a straightforward website. These blogs are the most likely to get the most traffic, but I hope that doesn’t obscure the unique qualities of blogs as blogs.

It’s not that people don’t write creatively on blogs, or share their art work, or their ideas and theories, they do all of these things. But this is your local “amateur” art show with a potential global drop in. People get to work out their ideas and processes, not quite in public, but semi-publicly. People get to write seriously, for themselves, and whoever else might get to see it. I known when I blog I am not writing for an audience, but I am writing with the understanding that someone out there will read it, and it may mean something to one of those people. That helps me to write differently.

There is a lack of expectation involved, and to borrow a term from magick, a lack of “lust of results”. It is what it is, and it is for itself, but in connection with other people. It’s folk writing.

And that is how I like it.

image of the wonderful Seasick Steve cropped from photo by Xenus (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)], via Wikimedia Commons, contrast, tone and saturation adjusted

image of the wonderful Seasick Steve cropped from photo by Xenus (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons, contrast, tone and saturation adjusted

5 Comments

  1. I was once one of those who said professional writers shouldn’t blog but most of us do. In my professional writing I can rarely express what I feel or what I really want to say on a subject because it has to be professional. When I write on subjects that I have strong feelings about I can release that on my blogs somewhere depending what it is and that is empowering.

    Keep on blogging Bro

  2. It is certainly a personal affair 🙂 Right now I am communicating with a person I am completely clueless about. It becomes business and professional when the motive of interest is involved. It is personal because my opinions and your perception is at play. They matter the most to us. Well, I couldn’t agree more. Thanks for sharing a wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

