red leaves and sunlight

Equinox is only about 8 hours away as I write, Autumn here, Spring in the Southern Hemisphere, and it was a beautiful day today, sunny, warm and dry. Felt just lovely having the back door open.

Evening draws in by 7pm, and the change in the day/night balance is at full tilt now. That’s the funny thing about the equinoxes, day and night are equal, but change is at the max, so after this you generally really notice the difference. But we’re still enjoying every bit of Indian Summer we get.

It’s over a year now since I retired and became a full time carer for my husband, and I’m very happy about that.

Quietly go the big changes, settling like velvet dust, growing like the roots of weeds. Water drips and minerals lick. My latest tattoo is a beautiful one of a goat’s face. I should soon be sorting out some Autumn colours for my hair too, which is always fun. It’s easier and easier to walk away from stuff that isn’t right for me.

Today I continued with my canvas painting of demon with baby. A little at a time it grows and matures. I love him, and repainting it on canvas changes it subtly, and some more as it continues, and I experiment and learn more with this medium. Painting is a never ending discovery.

There’s lots for me to explore and enjoy, and that is wonderful. I really am lucky. And I have my life with my husband. We are quite a pair really, and I can have nothing to be more grateful for than him.

If you are living in the Northern Hemisphere, may I suggest you brazen out Summer for as long as you can, and when you must, accept Autumn’s richness with open arms. If you are in the South, have a wonderful Spring.

Live long and prosper, as Mr Spock would say.

IMG_1091

 

Leave a Reply

