Mindful and Satanic

It’s been a good few days, quite a few, of stability and contentment, which is a lovely thing.

Over the last year I’ve drawn a lot on my polytheism, and links with my Heathen deities especially. I’ve needed them, they’ve been there. Others have been there too, such as my Egyptian “daemonic father”. “Gratitude” is too prosaic a word to describe what you feel for the presence of deities within your life, too commonplace a word for the bond, but the feeling is deep and free.

I’ve come to really value mindfulness, a mental practice and state that I first came upon decades ago in connection with Theravada Buddhism, though it also forms part of Reiki practice and training, and pretty much all Asian derived meditation techniques. The capacity to maintain mental balance, and not be overwhelmed by powerful emotions, thoughts and energies is a good skill for anyone, but it is essential for a magician or someone going through powerful experiences of personal growth, as powerful emotions and energies can be guaranteed in these situations at some point, and you have to be able to maintain your composure as you choose, in order to be able to function properly.

I am not a Buddhist, and do not subscribe to the wider Buddhist philosophy, but the traditional image of the Buddha is a good symbol of mindfulness for me, and I do use it.

In addition to this, the figure of Satan emerges as a fine focus of self-actualisation, pulling together my independent worth and stance, which is very good for someone as inclined to relationship and surrender as I am. No regrets there, not at all, as love is so important to me. But Satan for me matches both the irreducible clarity of selfhood, and clarity of mind that can cope with all of our nature.

Surrender blissfully as you wish, you will not lose that jewel-like self.

 wp_20170130_12_48_33_pro-copy

3 Comments

  1. Ah Buddhism. Thanks to the Shin Megami Tensei games putting some mighty Buddhist warrior deities on the side of Lucifer I’ve been interested in Buddhism, if mainly for all the Tantric stuff (I mean, just look at the figures found in Tibetan and Japanese forms of esoteric Buddhism for instance – even though their role is supposed to be destroying or sublimating “the ego”). Even though I like to think I’ve distanced myself from Buddhism years ago I don’t think I’ve completely lost interest, and at the back of my mind there’s still that desire to attempt an outright fusion of Western and Eastern systems. I’m no fan of surrender really (unless it’s the Stryper song, and that’s in spite of the Christian lyrics!), but if that stuff you said about mindfulness is true, then I’d say you’ve probably inadvertently given me a lead through which to pursue an element of Buddhism and incorporate or adapt by way of “taking the best and leaving the rest”.

    I wonder if it’s the same with Hinduism too. That’s be great considering plenty of the Buddhist lore I like is linked to Hinduism.

    • I’m all for “taking the best and leaving the rest”, and if we use good sources then we can really integrate some good stuff. Steal away! 😉 I recommend putting some work into that kind of plain meditation practice, even if only for a limited time, as the experience is something that stays with you – the knack of returning to neutral and letting go of thoughts, narratives, allowing feelings to peak and subside, seeing that things which appear to dominate the mind do subside if left to do so. It’s a very useful skill for any magician, as it allows you to surf consciousness rather than be engulfed by a particular colouration of it.

      Hinduism must have a great deal in it which you can take from I expect. I would think that a parallel kind of thing would be the different kinds of yoga. Crowley tried to integrate some of these into his magical training, in “Book 4”, and Chaos magicians have followed suit in a simplified form in things like Liber Null. It is sound experience to gain on several counts, but for all round simplicity and utility, I would say mindfulness particularly is a good practice.

Leave a Reply

